[Easy/Undefined] Kera

• 5 Replies

Offline Raicuparta

• Rai
    • View Profile
[Easy/Undefined] Kera
« on: September 02, 2010, 17:17:14 »
This is my first try at Knytt Stories level Editor. Also probably my first try at making graphics like this (pixel art) so some of the graphics will come out wrong. As my talent with pixel art isn't any good, I used some resources from the tilesets that come with KS, I hope there is no problem with that. As of right now I have 10 screens, and took a screenshot of every one of them:
Link (ImageShack Album)

Even though, as I said, I am no good with the graphics, I wanted to make something more personal, so I opted for the simple tilesets for the floor. The problem is that the game doesn't really like the rounded corners, and there may be some problems with that, but I can always fix them, but It makes me waste a little bit more time with testing every single corner of the level.

I started making this because I thought of a nice story and wanted to make it a game, on that screen with the lady in white, there is a shift that takes you to the village, and that is explained by the story.

None of the screens are complete, I will add more detail, but it will be mostly black, I think it looks nice that way.
Please tell me what you think, I wish to know if I am going the right way with my first work ;)

Oh, and the level is named Kera because that is the name of the girl :P

Offline yohji

• View Profile
    • Jashiin's Portfolio
Re: [Easy/Undefined] Kera
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2010, 17:33:31 »
I like the screens. Good aesthetic sense for a first level. I'll be looking forward to it! Only disliked the lady in white (sorry!) because of the unnaturally (well, in the context of the color scheme you used) bright hair color.

One word of advice: you may want to cut down on the number of screenshots you post; otherwise people will end up disappointed when they play the level and find out they've seen most of the screens already.