efficient game creation

• 7 Replies
efficient game creation
« on: May 12, 2009, 00:02:11 »
Hello,

I'm new to making games. That is, completely. But I'm very much inspired by the recent rise in independant games and I want to contribute my own. I dig Knytt Stories quite a bit, as well as Cave Story, games like Metroid and Castlevania, Zelda, Mario, etc.

My question is, what is the most efficient way to create a top view and/or isometric adventure/puzzle/platform/action game? I've seen quite a few things that are usually devoted entirely to making role playing games, but I'm not interested in that.

More to the point, should I learn script thoroughly? I get the impression there's alot of potential in "game makers" like MMF2, with the visual interface and all (which I like) but I assume there isn't much of a way to get around having to code eventually. That being said, now I want to know: what code, and what game maker/engine, if any?

I'm overwhelmed by the options, which is why I'm trying to be specific as to what I want. My games will not be cheap/tacky. I'm going to have decent physics and visuals, and I'm willing to put forth the extra effort to achieve this, so I need a program that will suit my needs.

Offline googoogjoob

• Forum Walrus
  • The Walrus is me.
    • View Profile
    • I have a LiveJournal. Yes. I do.
Re: efficient game creation
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2009, 02:12:57 »
Game Maker is very popular and free (the "lite" version is free; the fully-functional "pro" version is not). Clickteam has several game-making programs, of which The Games Factory 2 is the cheapest and easiest-to-use, but also the least powerful. (Multimedia Fusion 2 and Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer are more powerful.) Construct is free (and open source), and very similar to MMF2. However, it's still in beta.