[Misc] The Tree of Life

• 16 Replies

Offline Purple Ink

• View Profile
    • My lore forum
[Misc] The Tree of Life
« on: June 17, 2012, 05:33:29 »
I know I'm just a newbie but I figured I post something about the story I'm working on. I'm doing this for two reasons. Firstly, in hopes that it'll give me incentive to actually finish (it's a large project, I think). Having people I'm "accountable" to will help with this. Secondly, to get some interest/feedback from fellow players (as opposed to just uploading it). So without further adieu ...

The story is called The Tree of Life. At its heart it's just another "save the day" type thing. It will be story-driven with plenty of world to explore. Just want to ignore the main "quest" at first and explore? Do it! You just might find some interesting things along the way.

I'm not sure exactly what to classify it as because it doesn't quite fit any category. It will be Hard difficulty.

Features:
  • All custom music - This will be played as ambiance so if you get stuck in one area for a long time you won't have to deal with lots of silence.
  • Non-standard tiles - Most of the game features the standard tilesets (I hope I've used them in non-standard ways and combinations). However, there are a few areas that have non-standard tiles and even a couple custom tilesets.
  • Expansive world - Several hundred maps to explore.
  • Warping - Once you've gotten far enough in the story, you can unlock (literally) the ability to warp to some specific locations around the world.
  • Restricted saving - Saving will generally only be possible in special "sacred grove" maps. This is a screenshot of one of the nearest to the starting location.
  • Secrets - You'll have to explore the world. There's even some bonus content, if you can find it.