Creating new powerups?

• 3 Replies

Offline seven

• View Profile
Creating new powerups?
« on: February 27, 2011, 03:37:34 »
This is probably a pretty dumb question, but I didn't find anything relevant using the FAQ or search, so:

Is it possible to create new powerups (like the double jump, etc.)?  I had the idea of turning the player's ability to jump into an item, but I have no idea if the editor supports this.  I'm guessing the answer is probably "no," but I thought I'd check anyway.

On an unrelated note, where is the sign tile used in the KS tutorial?  I'm still pretty new to this editor and I haven't found it yet. >_<

Offline Firecat

• Every bit is important.
    • View Profile
Re: Creating new powerups?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2011, 05:13:39 »
You can't create your own powerups, but can simulate that a existing powerup its another kind of item, but it may require knowledge of shifts and flags.

And you can find the signpost tile in the tileset 1 (Tutorial tileset)
There's 110011 kinds of people in the world. Those who understand binary, Those who don't, and those who confuse it with ASCII.

Offline egomassive

• View Profile
    • egomassive games
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2011, 05:14:34 »
The sign object is mentioned briefly at the top of page 12 in the .pdf manual by SiamJam. For more detailed explanations on objects check out the object compendium.

To make your own image for a power-up:
  • First, make a copy of the screen where you get the power-up.
  • Second, include the image for the power-up on the original screen only.
  • Third, put a shift object on the power-up image.
  • Fouth, set the shift object to "Shift on Touch", point it to the copy screen, and set "Flag On" to the proper power-up.
  • Fifth, on the screen with the image set "Flag A" to the same power-up and point it at the copy screen. This prevents you from finding the power-up after it's been collected.