Game programming baby steps

• 2 Replies

Offline Vinterrun

• Schniggedi Schnapp die Daumen sind ab!
    • View Profile
Game programming baby steps
« on: January 15, 2011, 06:28:17 »
Heja together. I want to start my first game. Since I've never done it before it would be great to get some hints for my baby steps.

The game is supposed to be a 2D jump'n Run Platformer with rpg elemts (well, I got inspired by great dungeon in the sky and Knytt). Any hints? I want to use pixel grafics of course, as well as some kind of an armory to find and equip loot. Yeah...
under re-construction:

Coming late:

Starwale *pun*

Offline AClockworkLemon

• -Inactive-
    • View Profile
Re: Game programming baby steps
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2011, 09:19:03 »
oookayy, a topic im good at :^^:

This is, of course, a personal reccomendation. Feel free to take this with a grain of salt.

Basically, seeing as you have never made a game before, you probably wont want to step into coding just yet. My personal reccomendation for a first platform would be Game Maker. Although the free version does have lmitations, its a gret way to introduce yourself to the mecahnics befind game making
Game Maker

Another reccomendation i have recieved myself (admittedly never really tried it) but i have heard it is god for beginners is
Construct

Both of those provide means of making games without the use of code (which is a good way to start, as it allows you to get to grips with mecanics, as i said earlier). Again, purely out of personal experience, i found Game Maker to have a really good transition into using the in-build scripting language.