Multiple "screen" warps in one "screen"?

• 4 Replies

Offline Headgrinder

• Smart Steel Polisher
    • View Profile
    • www.matthewepperson.wordpress.com
Multiple "screen" warps in one "screen"?
« on: March 18, 2010, 12:15:24 »
Hey, I've looked around real quick and haven't seen this addressed in a way that I get.

I'm new to trying to do warps and I've not seen any really good descriptions differentiating between shift style warps and screen warps (the ones that use the 4 arrows in a box... are they what the ks_editor_tut calls "shifters?"  I really can't figure it out what the tutorial is talking about...).  I found the layout of the Knytt stories manager a little confusing or unintuitive as well, so I'm really hoping someone can help.  There just doesn't seem to be an over all description that includes all the elements: objects, layout of the manager screen, AND world.ini stuff.  Without the overall view, I get lost real quick.  :\

Anyhow, I was going to have 3 "switches" throughout my level you have to find which trigger a series of screen warps to a similar looking screen.  In each one, a flag check would (or would not) be triggered sending you to the next screen, which would send you to the next, kind of like a series of if-than statements in some program languages. 

However, it isn't working.  I'm gathering that you have to move from screen to screen to initiate these flags, and thus they cannot be stacked like that in a single series of like screens.

Is that right or am I missing something?

Also, I've had to revert to editing the world.ini because I CANNOT figure out which settings go with screen warps and flags.  I don't know what I'm missing, but nothing seems to be working except for seeing what is going on in other world.ini files and figuring it out from there. 

Thanks guys.

Offline LPChip

• You can only truly help other people by allowing them to fail.
  • Excel at the thing you're the best at!
    • View Profile
    • LPChip Interactive