Jungle vines tileset

• 24 Replies
Jungle vines tileset
« on: March 10, 2010, 09:15:07 »
This is my first attempt at making a tileset, and I think it turned out very well, but I figured I'd let you all see it and offer feedback before I get too far into making complementary sets to round it out.

Notes:
  • The flowerless hanging vine has 90%-transparent pixels filling it out, so that it's comfortably climbable. It can be layered with the other vines to make them climbable, too.
  • The platforms with the vine ties on them have an extra layer of 90%-transparent pixels to add height, so that if the tile above has something on layer three that reaches the bottom of the tile, the platform tile is impassable. (This allows the platform tile to be layered onto a level-2 vine with level-3 vines above and below it without that tile being a gap in the solidness of the vine.)
  • The monkey looks decent on any vine, with the possible exception of if you layer him over a flower - I haven't tested that. I may get rid of him altogether, he seems to be the weak link of the tileset.
  • The butterflies can sit properly on any of the three rock tiles, but not on the platforms. I haven't tested them with anything else.

Offline vdweller

• JapanStache!
    • View Profile
    • vdweller's freeware games
Re: Jungle vines tileset
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2010, 14:32:01 »
Looks very good! Well done!

...and I like the monkey too :)

Offline the Jack

• not *that* Jack!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2010, 15:21:47 »
Wow, this is pretty and well-engineered -- and fun. You clearly put a lot of thought into it.

I really like the gentle curves of the background greenery, and the way the spearhead-like tips on the posts, and the matching bases, are interchangeable separately from what colour the flowers on the vines spiralling up them are. Great idea, great execution.