For love of easy, large, environmental play grounds.

• 7 Replies

Offline Headgrinder

• Smart Steel Polisher
    • View Profile
    • www.matthewepperson.wordpress.com
For love of easy, large, environmental play grounds.
« on: March 06, 2010, 15:35:28 »
So I'm a newbie, gearing up to make my first knytts game.  I'm not big on forums, it takes too much time away from other stuff (because I talk too much), but I did want to do an introduction and ask a question.

I was drawn instantly to knytts stories because of the beauty, environment, and exploration I found in the original games, then I wet my pants when I realized people could make their own games.

However, I must say I'm a little frustrated in the level archive.   I'm a HUGE fan of the environmental play grounds, the fun, relaxing beauty with a hint of puzzle and plot, a few rabid dogs to avoid, a few nice timed jumps, but nothing I have to do more than twice to beat.  All I seem to find are the kind of games that either have impossibly complex jumps (for me, looser that I am) and which I get stuck in for 5 minutes straight without a clue as to what to do next.  At which point if the game is only somewhat promising, I delete it.  If it is more promising, I MIGHT just fire up the editor and skip to the next point.  Yes I'm evil.  Deal with it.  :)

If that came off as harsh, I'm just frustrated, because SOOOOO MANNNY of those games look good, but I just can't play them.  No time, no patience.

So, my question is, what are the great environmental levels, like the Machine and A Strange Dream?  Which of the hundreds in the archives are playable to an impatient, beauty over challenge gamer?

Offline Hmpf

• Now with less rain.
    • View Profile
Re: For love of easy, large, environmental play grounds.
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2010, 16:54:00 »
May I suggest you join us: http://nifflas.lpchip.nl/index.php?topic=2807.0 ? ;-)