How to walk of the right and appear in another screen?

• 9 Replies

Offline Duffking

• View Profile
How to walk of the right and appear in another screen?
« on: March 03, 2009, 20:15:40 »
Something I'm sure I've seen in other's levels is having a room on one map square (say x1000 y1000 for example), then when they walk off the right hand side, you appear in a square 5 to the right instead. How is this done? I've looked at other's levels in the editor and can't see any shifts, and checked the properties.

I ask, because I'm new to the editor and basically want a section where you make some simple jumps in a cave, reach the next screen to grab a powerup, then head back. When you return to the first screen (the one with the jumps), I want a few enemies to have appeared in there - so presumable I'd need 2 versions of the screen, one with enemies and one without, so if the screen is approached from the left it does not have enemies, but if from the right you get the one WITH enemies (and even better, if possible, once you've got the powerup, you ALWAYS get the one with enemies, no matter which side you enter from).

I've seen this done, but can't work out how....

Also, how do you do the 'walk off right side of screen, appear on left of same screen' trick?

Thanks guys :)
« Last Edit: March 05, 2009, 12:49:16 by LPChip »

Offline Miss Paula

• I demand more of these.
    • View Profile
Re: Quick questions
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2009, 20:41:57 »
As far as I know, that's done with Warps. I'm sure when you try the various resources that are linked/posted in the stickied topics in this forum, you'll find more information about them. :)
Spoiler: (click to show/hide)
:hs::hs::hs::hs::fish::hs::hs::hs::hs:
:hs:

Offline Duffking

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2009, 20:49:59 »
Thanks, I scanned the little manual thing but didn't spot anything. I was under the impression that warps were placed like shifts though? I'll check it out anyhow.