File corrupt after compressing?

• 11 Replies

Offline Ariana

• View Profile
File corrupt after compressing?
« on: July 22, 2009, 23:37:50 »
Whenever I compress my level into a .knytt.bin file, and try installing it, it gives me "error: file corrupt". I've tried uploading it to Knytt Levels and it says it's not recognized as a Knytt Stories level. If it helps, I'm running the program through WINE, could there be a problem with WINE handling the compression?

Offline Razzorman

• Contemplating name change.
    • View Profile
Re: File corrupt after compressing?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2009, 00:02:15 »
Maybe, but I shouldn't say anything. I'm not that experienced with linux.
It could just be that you are using uncommon punctuation marks, or that your level is not saved as a .knytt.bin file.
My only star: :hiddenstar:

:D

Offline Ariana

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2009, 00:33:51 »
I thought symbols in the name might be a problem at first too, but I tried simply naming it "x" and it still doesn't work. And I'm positive it's a .knytt.bin file.

Offline Miss Paula

• I demand more of these.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2009, 01:02:31 »
I think it does have to do with WINE+compression issues therein...If I remember correctly, someone wrote a program that extracts the files properly. I could be wrong, but maybe you can find something regarding WINE problems with the [search].

[ahh, vague memories... X)]
Spoiler: (click to show/hide)
:hs::hs::hs::hs::fish::hs::hs::hs::hs:
:hs:

Offline Ariana

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2009, 01:27:54 »
I've tried searching around on Google and the forums, and can't find anything. In the Wine app database it even says they didn't test the level editor.

Offline AA

• Was ITA84
    • View Profile
    • Insight on Videogames
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2009, 10:00:54 »
I don't remember where that program was, but if you have Java you can try my editor, it has a functional level compressor and extractor.